A.W.O.L…..for 5 months…..But I Have Returned !

I know….I know….I’ve been off the radar since I got back from last autumn’s sun holiday. To come back to our horrible Irish weather was a bit of a “downer”. I dabbled, tipped around and weeded here and there, but my heart wasn’t in it enough to come and blog about the gloomy weather. So I decided to just read others and keep a low profile. We did get through the winter with some veggies like Leeks,soggy Onions, Brussels Sprouts, Carrots and Perpetual spinach.

The depth of winter was so wet,windy and downright miserable and there were few days that I even ventured down the garden.It was so boggy I could have cut turf/peat….LOL!

Another thing lately was that my laptop crashed and I lost everything including hundreds of photos from way back, maybe 5 years worth of them :( But  I know someone, who knows someone, who knows a lot about fixing laptops, hard drives, etc….so I am back up and running with a new hard drive and almost like new laptop. Only thing is I will have to start taking photos of  all my garden as it renews this Spring. Let’s say……a New Year…..a New Beginning .

I am reluctant to start sowing too soon this year after the disastrous late frosts, another few weeks should get us going full speed again.

However…..I did sow some peas on the 8th of January under a mini cloche that Himself erected on a bench in the tunnel, and they are now quite healthy looking plants, fingers crossed

Peas 14-2-2013

I have also sown some more garden peas and sugar snap peas and 2 trays of Onion seeds. This is my first attempt at sowing onions from seed…fingers crossed again.!

The tunnel is all washed down, inside and out, so all beds are ready for their little bed-fellows !

Our 2 “Girls”, Maisy and Daisy made it through the winter and moulting and are looking well and healthy and producing an egg each once more. 

Maisy and Daisy 14thFeb2013

 

Well, that’s basically all for now. I hope to take new, fresh photos as buds begin to flower and the ground dries up and more seeds are sown. Thank you for stopping by and reading my ramblings again.

Cheers for now and Roll On Planting Time,

Catherine.

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Look forward to seeing your garden come along nicely. We don’t know what to do this year because we’ll be away June and July.

    Reply
  2. Hello it’s good to seeing you posting here again! Fingers crossed that this year is much better for all us gardeners. xx

    Reply
  3. Nice to see you back!
    Sorry to hear about your laptop – I fear this may happen to me in the not-too-distant future. But your sowings look good. Hope all goes well this gardening year :)

    Reply
  4. Welcome back etc! Look forward to seeing how the season works out for you. By the law of averages, we’re surely due a decent year!

    Reply
  5. Well done on getting things going early. The Peas look great. Hardy healthy plants. I’m envious!
    Bridget x.

    Reply
  6. I think this weather has thrown everyone. All I’ve done is sow seeds as it’s too cold for any real garden work. I’m looking forward to seeing your garden throughout the year.

    Reply
  7. Oh how awful to lose your pics, they must be in there somewhere and I do hope you get them back.
    I know what you mean about the weather, it’s still freezing here In Liverpool and there seems to be no sign of any immediate improvement….sigh….
    Glad to hear you still have your girls….xxxxx

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by,Snowbird. No, the pics are definitely gone. Dare I say it ….weather here “seems” to be improving. I must write another blog soon.!

      Reply
  8. Great to see you been a while good to see you nice page. Cindy

    Reply
  9. You have lots growing! I’m late even with my seedlings… have a bench load of tiny ones and that’s it bar a few herbs and some onions in the polytunnel.

    Reply
  10. Hurray, you’re back! Sorry, I haven’t been popping in but now that you are here again, I’ll click follow to make sure that I don’t miss any posts. Great to see all of the plants thriving. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

