May Day……May Day !

The signs of growth are showing over the last few weeks. The temperatures have risen slightly outside,but in the tunnel the little red line has gone up to 25C or more. But with the risk of night time frosts still, I did not do much planting outside.

The tunnel is actually bursting at the moment as I even planted the peas inside, and as I found out last year that french beans don’t like frosts either,but I love french beans,so in they went too. A bed of early potatoes are a must in the tunnel too,as we did not sow the tubers outside until last week.

Most of my onion seeds were ready to go out ages ago,but ground was still cold and so they secured a bed inside too. The brassicas seem to be the only other plants that are a bit slow in wanting to outgrow their modules and have only recently been potted on to await their transfer outside. I think lettuces seem to be the hardiest of plants as a small row of iceberg were outside before a few frosty nights recently and seem to be doing well. 

I have 6 small Moneymaker tomato plants in the last available bed in the tunnel, but I have been covering them with newspaper by night as I lost many to frostbite last year.

But, basically, everything seems to be trying their best to keep me happy. Even my grapevine has shown some growth and I thought that had died.Most veggies are probably a month behind, but hopefully we will soon get a burst of warm sun and all will be rosy in my garden :)

6 Moneymaker toms settled in 29-4-13  Spuds earhted up again 29-4-13

 

The potato patch in front of the Sheebeen 22-4-13

 

To save space I also use hanging baskets for tomatoes and peas :)

2 Yellow and 1 Red Cherry tom in hanging basket 29-4-13

 

Hanging-upside down Peas 29-4-13

 

Strawberries were kept inside because ants loved them last year and fattened up on my crop, not this year….I am getting wise to the little critters and am now sorry I did not buy a much bigger tunnel,even though I do like the outdoors a lot.

Green strawbs 29-4-13

 

Himself is partial to a few radishes,so a small row of these found a little space too…

Himself's Radishes 21-4-13

I can’t wait for the next few weeks to be able to taste all the new season’s veggies. Thanks for stopping by, Happy Gardening !

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. So much going on in your tunnel and all looking good. We had a really hard frost last night so you are wise to be cautious.

    Reply
  2. Hanging baskets for tomatoes…….hmmm, you’re giving me ideas!

    Reply
  3. Good..Marcella…peas can hang too ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

