What Can I Say ?!?

Well…..what CAN I say ? I am just a procrastinator ! I have been putting off posting, or rather saying I will do it tomorrow. But I have made it here this evening eventually..LOL!

Since last month’s bad weather and then the turn to warm, gardening friendly …..dare I say IT…..? SUN !!  I have been sowing,planting and watching all the beautiful growth in the garden.

What with the warmth and the rain it was ideal conditions for the plants, but the growth was so fast, it took me by surprise and I had to rearrange beds for new arrivals. As plants grew, so did the weeds, so double work followed me everywhere.

We really did think that “Summer” had come at last. It did too…for 1 week…..remember ? 

Anyway, since my last post, if I can remember back that long ago, we have been harvesting and eating some of our veggies that had become dormant over the winter months.

The tunnel broad beans have been supplying us every second day for weeks. I pinched out the tops as I noticed new shoots were starting to grow from the roots. But as there is only so many beans one can eat in a week, they have become large  pods and taste bitter to me now. I have had my fill of broad beans and probably will give them a skip next year.

 

This one strawberry plant in the tunnel, I surrounded with a cut down milk carton and kept the dreaded slugs away and we got a nice few fruits, but a little more bitter than my tall tub of strawberries in our old hothouse.

 

 

 

I dug out the tunnel spuds because their stalks were so tall they were falling into other beds. I did have a “rummage” down below before digging them out to make sure there actually was something there and I was pleasantly surprised….we had a few dinners and with the smallies I made potato salad with my own chives , I love potato salad !

 

I found a place to get recycled pallets!!!!!!

This is my “New” coldframe….I walk past our local lawnmower shop every day now that I don’t have a car ;( and saw loads of pallets just leaning against their wall……In I go on the pretence of asking how much to fix a chainsaw 😉 and by the way Mr.Lawnmower Man…what do you do with all them pallets…..he said they try to find people to take them……EUREEEEKA !!!  I said I would be delighted to take them off your hands……so next delivery day at lawnmower shop, Hey Presto…..big truck outside my door with huge pallets….you all know how big those ride-ons are 🙂

Now I am his best non-paying customer….! He has even given me some of his old skirting boards from his house renovations! New beds…..new fences and soon..new compost bin. I just have to persuade Hubby to get his hammer and nails now!

Ooooh the first taste of those baby carrots….mmmm!

 

 

These I just broadcast in a raised bed in the tunnel and we have been eating these sweet babies most days for ages too, I never get fed up of carrots:)

 

Like peas in a pod….on average I got 8/9 peas in every pod…well peased..LOL!

But they did succumb to greenfly eventually, I guess it was my own fault for setting much to close together. But I have loads in the freezer 😉

On the 25th of May, this was the temp in my tunnel…

 

And that was with both doors open!!!

My young fella, Rossi, also has a bed in the “Sheebeen” and loves his sun spot !

He has his chain leash on to stop him jumping all over my plants while he is chasing flies, not because I am cruel…LOL!

We…Me, Hubby and Rossi had some pleasant evening sunsets in our garden..

Through the “Sheebeen” door….

 

Sitting with a nice glass of white wine spritzer at sunset……Bliss!

I have much more to show, but will stop for now. I will solemnly promise to TRY and post updates more frequently, but I also do not want to bore you all with my auld Irish ramblings 😉

Happy Gardening whatever the weather throws at us. We gardeners WILL survive 🙂

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Oh my your anything but boring,I just told Hubby (Charles) that I would love to cook Green Peas from fresh right out of the pod , I’ve never cooked fresh ones before always out of the can or frozen.But I’ve cooked loads of things right out of the garden but never green peas. Do you grow Crowder Peas? They turn kinda brown when you cook them,we really like them.Keep up the goo d work.

    Reply
  2. Oh Wow…Elizabeth…thanks a million for commenting 🙂
    Never heard of Crowder Peas….but then I am only Irish, living on the furthest western coast of Europe….LOL. But am willing to try anything. I am now in a trial for a product that cuts watering to 50% .UK and Ireland have restrictions on hoses during droughts and we in Ireland will soon be charged for our water, so I am seeing if this product will help!

    Reply
  3. A lovely, busy post showing lots of goodies, and that’s a good looking coldframe.
    Do ramble on by on all means, and try to do it a bit more often! xx

    Reply
  4. Tunnel gardening has recently peaked my interest. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for your comment,Jabbear. Yes tunnel gardening has extended the growing season for me and I get to be in the garden all year round 🙂

    Reply
  6. I am amazed at how growing in a polytunnel brings crops on so much faster. If only I had room for one – fancy getting fed up of broad beans already – mine haven’t even starting forming yet. Patience Elaine.

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment,Elaine.
      Well, I did sow them way back last autumn,Elaine. I just pulled them out today to make room for some more strawberries 🙂

      Reply
  7. I need a greenhouse. I often wondered if I could justify one, your postings seem to say yes!

    Reply
  8. Oh Yes, Peter…..definitely.! I would be so lost without my poly tunnels and guess it would be the same with greenhouses! In this awful wet weather, it is so great to be able to continue sowing,planting,weeding,growing..etc….all year round without getting wet or battered by the wind 🙂
    Thanks for your comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

