I’m Back….and Better !

Since my last post I am feeling a bit better. Amongst all the happenings I developed a head cold and chest infection, so I really went down hill and did not do anything worth talking about down the veggie garden. Also a daughter and her two little girls have moved in temporarily while they look for another house to rent. Kayley, aged 4, has been a great help to me. She loves coming down and opening the tunnel doors in the mornings and closing them in the evening. She likes to do a bit of watering and checking plants out too…..

 

 

Dare I say this…..the last 3 days have been warm and sunny…so the humour is on me now. I got myself outside and down and dirty in the soil once more….what a lovely feeling to get my nails black again…LOL! There seems to have been a burst of growth firstly from all the heavy rain and then the heat that followed. The gladioli opened over the weekend….

 

Tomatoes have at last started to ripen, even though some are more bitter yet,needing more heat and sun for a little while longer…

 

The outside Brassica beds look a bit bedraggled from not weeding ,but that is on my agenda for this weekend. I actually found a big, ugly slug today sitting on the side of my little white cauliflower…..I’m sure the neighbours heard me cursing at him as he went on his fast, merry way !

 

The tunnel has been getting a bit “foresty” looking lately, what possessed me to grow 2 courgette/zuchinni plants in there??? I didn’t even want to sow any this year, but you know us gardeners….if the seeds are there…they get sown…!

 

I will not be planting brassicas in the tunnel anymore either. They get too tall and take over. They do well enough outside. Hubby has an idea on how to maybe out wit the slugs next year…..build raised beds on stilts….we DO have enough pallets and more to come next year. 🙂 

My parsley has been allowed to go to seed in the hope of saving my own for next year. I just don’t know when they will be ripe, or do they flower first?

Yesterday and today I planted purple top Milan Turnips in the old hothouse. They had been lingering in their modules for so long I hope they grow. I pulled more of my white and red onions today. The stalks had bent over and some have thick necks, so these will be used up each day and what’s left will be strung up and  stored . I had 3 nice strong looking sweet pepper plants in a growbag down in my “Sheebeen”……but when I went to check today one of them had been almost decapitated and I saw those slimy trails that give away the perpetrators …so disappointing !

 

Three aubergine/eggplants seem to be doing well in a growbag too. There are a few little buds nearly ready to flower and look stronger than last year. Last year the flowers just dropped off before setting fruit. So hopefully I may see a real one this year.

 

 

I did take some new photos today, but they will not load on my computer , I will try again tomorrow.

Thanks for stopping by and it is good to be feeling better again and getting outside to get “Down and Dirty”…..LOL!

Happy Gardening and hoping for more of this nice warmth and sun,

Catherine C.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. It’s good to know that you’re feeling better. I’m sure that some warm sunshine will do both us and our gardens and plants the world of good.
    A nice busy post. Flighty xx

    Reply
    • Thanks Flighty, and I have been outside all afternoon, just in for some food and back out again, probably till dark. I never thought there were so many weeds and so much clipping of grass edges to do !

      Reply
  2. Everything is looking good – and now you’re feeling a bit better – I’m sure you will back with your usual enthusiasm.

    Reply
  3. Hope you’re right about the weather, we could do with it. Everyone is saying the Gulfstream is going to move allowing high pressure to dominate. Despite your absence all your plants look great. Glad you’re better!

    Reply
  4. Thanks so much Bridget. Could you tell me where the Gulf Stream is moving to…LOL! Meteorologists have said summers here will be wet from now on…..and winters will be wet too…!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

